Custom Kicks: Renew your shoes with this Toronto Artist

 

Creator: Ayano Kubo

Meraki: How did you start your business?
We all have a pair of sneakers that we don’t wear because we don’t love them anymore, colour changed or just too old. One day I repaired my old kicks just cleaned it pretty well and changed the colour using leather paint I found at a friend’s store. Then I start wearing them because I felt like it was the only custom shoe in the city. I chose this colour, I made it all fresh again and it made me feel good. So I post photos on social media. then people started messaged me “hey can you do this and that?” I consult with all my clients on how exactly they want them customized design. Sometime It’s for someone special, sometimes it represents who they are, a sports team name, or a favourite TV show character. Being Original is unstoppable and art is a way that can represent who they are. So I decided to make a business to expose identities with my designs.

Meraki: Where do you see your company in the future?
I’d like to do my art not only in Toronto, Canada but hopefully in the future I’d like to ship internationally. I want to be able to experience different cultures from the designs that will be asked of me from around the world.

Meraki: Where do you get your Inspirations?
Music, Paintings, cartoon or anything related to art.

Meraki: When you’re not working What are some of your favourite things to do?
When I’m not working I enjoy watching movies, I get lots of design ideas from it too.

Meraki: Who are some people that have inspired you throughout your career?
Throughout my artistry I am constantly inspired from Bboys/Bgirls, and graffiti artists around Toronto.

Meraki: How do you stay updated on current trends?
I constantly look at Social media and Music videos, Or just walking around Eaton Centre. Retail is a great way to get inspired.

Meraki: What is your dream job?
My dream job would be the ability to create my art with positive vibes/atmosphere and to continue to grow my brand internationally.

Meraki: What is the most enjoyable aspect of your company?
One of the most enjoyable aspects of my own company is the amount of new and exciting people that I get to meet along the way. Since this is still the earlier stages of art sneaks I’m looking forward to an incredible new journey.

Want to get something customized by Ayano? Reach out to her below!!!
Contact Information:
Phone: 647-280-7897
Email: Ayanokubo@gmail.com
Instagram: @Ayanokubo

Until Next Time,

MERAKI

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

